## Minutes of the Meeting Friends of Coulsdon C of E School 47th ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING Wednesday 28th June 2023 @ 7.30pm

## **Attendees**

Zoe Whicheloe (Chair)

Nicola Bulbeck (Treasurer)

Sarah Bowen-Harries (Secretary)

Mr Garratty - Head of school

Mrs Soltau – Staff representative

Mrs Newsome - Staff representative

Stacey McAdjar - Year R parent

Henrietta Lartey – Year R parent

Chris Atkinson - Governor (Chair, Communities

Cttee), Year R and 2 parent

Kirstyn Baker – Year 3 and R parent

Darren Baker – Year 3 and R parent

Suzanne Taylor – Year 4 Rep and 2 parent

Julia Sharpe - Year 4 parent

Rachael Jolley – Year 4 parent

Jen Scott - Year 5 Rep

Lene Fulbrook – Year 6 and 1 parent

## 1. Welcome

- Sarah Bowen-Harries opened the meeting and welcomed attendees to the 47<sup>th</sup> Annual General Meeting
- Introductions were made

## 2. Opening address - Zoe Whicheloe

- Zoe paid a special thanks to the support of Mrs Mitchell during her tenure as a
   Trustee on the Friends Committee and as a dedicated Head to the school. Zoe paid
   tribute to her values and ethos which is now instilled within the Friends will continue
   to live on in all that we do.
- Zoe also paid to Mrs Lee as a teacher representative ahead of her resignation as deputy.
- Thanks additionally paid to Rachael Jolley and Maxine Slate for contributions of time and effort to the Friends as Y6 class representatives.

- Jen Scott gave thanks to the Friends recognising the hard efforts and commitments made by the parent volunteers and stating what a great impact it has on the children within the school.
- 3. 2022 minutes to be approved
- AGM Minutes from 2021-2022 approved by Suzanne Taylor and seconded Rachael Jolley
- 4. Treasurer's report Nicola Bulbeck
- Nicola walked through the Treasurer's report and sources of income over the past financial year (please refer to attached report)
- Thanks paid to Jennifer Allen who has been responsible for auditing the Friends accounts and Nicola confirmed that this would be Jennifer's last year as our auditor.
- Agreed that Friends accounts would continue to be audited annually, despite there being no legal requirement for this.
- Nicola stated that although the year had been a success, in future it was expected that contributions would be generally lower in future. Contributions to the school have generally been high (£12,719 contributed this year).
- Karen Newsome commented that funds donated from the Friends had been used across a wide number of areas:
  - Books including Read Write Inc. as well as associated training for teaching staff
  - o Bibles
  - Ducklings Library visits for year groups
- Discussed how the allocation of funds for school trips had helped parents financially.
   Agreed that where trips hadn't been funded by the Friends, this money can be rolled over to next year
- Discussed allocation of money for year groups and the possible introduction of a 'bid form' process to encourage teachers to request money for initiatives/resources as required
- Agreed that £200 could be allocated per year group to fund resources / ad hoc spend that cannot be funded via the school's central budget
- Discussed that an Amazon Wishlist could also be set up for the school, enabling teachers to request certain items which parents/friends have the opportunity to fund
- Looking forward to the next financial year, some events planned:
  - o Father Christmas Rotary run Father Christmas confirmed
  - Fireworks night
  - Early December movie night (ahead of licence expiry Sarah B-H to confirm expiration date)
- Nicola promoted Easyfundraising and Sainsburys loyalty incentives. She explained
  the ease of generating funds via the school for purchases made. More details will be
  shared to the school groups in due course.

- 5. Retiring trustees
- Zoe stated Mrs Mitchell would be a retiring trustee.
- 6. Election of trustees
- Suzanne proposed Mr Garratty to become trustee Zoe Whicheloe seconded the proposal.
- 7. New Committee members and Trustees for the next financial year:

Co-Chairs Zoe Whicheloe and Nicola Bulbeck

Treasurer Adrian Deller

Secretary Danielle Atkinson and Sarah Bowen-Harries (though will not become a trustee this year)

Fiona Lee Communications Officer

Joanna Soltau Events Manager

Parent Representatives:

YR Holly and Emma Cotter

Y1 Hollie Winkworth and Danielle Atkinson

Y2 Helen Omoh-Mensah and Ama Ayebinim-Preko

Y3 Kelli Lindley

Y4 Hannah Shanks and Kirstyn Baker

Y5 Zoe Whicheloe

Y6 Dee Collins and Jen Scott

- Motion has been proposed by Mr Garratty and seconded by Suzanne Taylor.
- 8. Other matters
- None